Cheat Day…? Make it two

As this 30 day challenge is coming to an end, it has become a bit more of a struggle to find healthy recipes that I find appetizing. Don’t get me wrong, there are endless possibilities of healthy recipes all over the internet, however, I want something different! I came across a recipe for BBQ Bacon Wrapped Hot Dogs. Yeah, sounds like a heart attack waiting to happen am I right? However, as I was going through the recipe, I thought if I took away the bun and found a healthy hot dog, it couldn’t be too bad. I googled healthy hot dogs and found that Applegate Farms Uncured Hot Dogs have half the amount of fat and 200 less milligrams of sodium than the most popular hot dog brands. So I followed the recipe using the applegate farm hot dog and no bun. I also used just a couple tsps of BBQ sauce for the two hot dogs that I made(as I made one for my roommate). To no surprise, they were still delicious! Yes they are not crazy healthy and they are not something that I would not think to make during this challenge, but I am so happy that I did! It filled my craving and I am not even mad because I made it healthy! Well… somewhat:)

Before this challenge, I would have never looked for alternative ingredients that are more healthy but I couldn’t be more thankful that it changed me for the better!

But like… desert?

With the warm weather lately, I can’t help but wish for the summer. One thing that I love is summer night fires and that of course always comes with s’mores. For months, I have seen videos and recipes of something called a s’mores dip. It is so easy and so delicious! I melt the chocolate and marshmallows in the oven and use graham crackers as the “chip”. So simple! Unfortunately, there really was no way to make this healthy, but marshmallows are mainly egg whites right? and chocolate is good for you right? 😉

As always,

Stay hungry my friends

Click for BBQ Bacon Wrapped Hot Dogs Recipe

Click for S’mores Dip Recipe

 

Leave a Reply

