Ditch the other side(s)

From the time I was a child, my mother would make one of those pasta sides with every meal that we had. Whether is was brocoli cheddar noodles or garlic shells, it was an easy side to pair with any chicken or pork meal. I have grown to love them and as a college student on a budget they are great for the price. However, I think we all know that they are not the healthiest!

When I found this recipe for Asparagus Lemon Risotto, I couldn’t help but think of those sides. This is a healthy meal option that brings the look and tast of those sides with the healthiness and vamped up taste in a full dish. It was even filling enough that I did not have to combine it with a meat.

The best part of this challenge has been the realization that these healthy dishes can truely make you feel good. For almost every meal before this challenge started, I would make a pasta side, breaded chicken and a vegetable. Although they were well rounded meals, they were boring and sometimes bland. I can see now how much these pasta sides weighed me down. I never had anything to compare it to until now and I can honestly say that I have more energy and feel better than ever!

As Always

Stay hungry my friends

Click for Asparagus Lemon Risotto Recipe

Leave a Reply

