Lets Get Cheesy

Its about 6pm on sunday night and as I opened the refrigerator door, starring into the sea of left overs, condiments, and the occasional gallon of milk, I notice an abundance of broccoli. Quickly, I thought to myself “hmmm I wonder if I could find a healthy recipe with broccoli as the main ingredient?” As an avid meat eater, I struggle to fulfill my appetite off of just greens. Interestingly enough, I was able to find a meat-less recipe that curved my interest.

BROCCOLI AND QUINOA-WHAAAAT?

Thats right, cheesy broccoli and quinoa patties. Not only did they look delicious, but quinoa is a great grain-like seed that has a wide source of protein. Although I had some complications shaping the mixed ingredients into patties, the final product was an 8/10. This is definitely a recipe that I would make again when I am in a crunch and have limited time to grocery shop. As the recipe made about 8 patties, I could tell that my roommates are just as excited about this challenge, considering they volunteered to be my taste testers!

Noon time the next day rolls around and as someone who rarely sits down to eat a nice lunch, it was a struggle figuring out what to eat. The dreariness of the snowy weather made me crave some comfort food, so what better than mac and cheese? However, I knew that it was not the healthiest choice. I found a recipe for Roasted Brussel sprouts, bacon and pepperjack macaroni and cheese. How delicious does that sound? The recipe was according to four servings, so I cut the recipe in half and hit the stove. I had to substitute the pepperjack cheese for sharp cheddar as it was the only cheese in my fridge. About 45 minutes laters, 3 dirty dishes and 2 dirty pans, the meal was done. Although I love brussel sprouts, mac and cheese and bacon separately, I cannot say that I loved them all together. However, with a few of my own twists, I bet I could make it great. Day 4 of my 30 day challenge and I think I’m starting to get the hang of it!

As always,

Stay hungry my friends

Click Link for Cheesy Quinoa and Broccoli Patties

Click Link for Brussel Sprouts, Bacon and Pepperjack Mac and Cheese

Leave a Reply

